Home>Sports>Cricket>Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Plate Round-up: Sikkim finds itself in deep trouble at the end of Day 2

Ranji Trophy 2018-19 Plate Round-up: Sikkim finds itself in deep trouble at the end of Day 2

Pankaj Singh and Rohit Damodaren scalped two wickets each as Puducherry put Sikkim on the mat on the second day of the Ranji Trophy Plate Group fifth leg fixture in Wayanad on Friday.

After Paras Dogra’s 253 helped Puducherry put up 647-8 in the first innings, Sikkim was reeling at 48-5 at stumps–trailing by 599 runs.

Milind Kumar was batting on four, while Karma Bhutia was on 2.

In the other match between Uttarakhand and Meghalaya, pacer Deepak Dhapola bagged a six-wicket haul as group leader Uttarakhand fought back. In the top-of-the-table clash, Meghalaya resumed the day at 294 for five but Dhapola (6-52) helped his team bundle out the rival for addition of just 17 runs.

This was Dhapola’s fourth five-wicket haul in as many matches and the 28-year-old now has 32 wickets from four games.

READ: Ranji Trophy: Gambhir helps Delhi make strong reply

At close on day two, Uttarakhand was at 175/4, trailing Meghalaya by 136 runs with opener Vineet Saxena batting on 62 and skipper Rajat Bhatia batting on 54.

In Dimapur, Nagaland off-spinner Tahmeed Rahman claimed a hat-trick on way to a 5/108, but it found itself on the mat, trailing by 60 runs with six wickets in hand in the second innings.

Debutant Mayank Raghav played a knock of 228 to guide Manipur to 336.

In reply, Nagaland was 150-4 in its second innings with KB Pawan (47) and Arbar Kazi (24) seeing through the day.

In Patna, Indrajit Kumar hammered 222 while skipper Babul Kumar scored 98 as Bihar piled misery on Arunachal Pradesh to declare its first innings for 536-5.

Arunachal Pradesh, who was skittled out for 84 on day one, finished day two at 98-1, still trailing Bihar by 354 runs.

Summarised scores

In Dehradun: Meghalaya 311; 95.5 overs (Puneet Bisht 154, Yogesh Nagar 91; Deepak Dhapola 6/52, Sunny Rana 2/73, Dhanraj Sharma 2/81). Uttarakhand 175/4; 73 overs (Vineet Saxena 62 batting, Rajat Bhatia 54 batting; Dipu Sangma 2/26).


In Dimapur: Nagaland 126 and 150/4; 42 overs (Rongsen Jonathan 59, KB Pawan 47 batting; Bishworjit Konthoujam 2/29, Kabrambam Meitei 2/35). Manipur 336; 91.4 overs (Mayank Raghav 228; Tahmeed Rahman 5/108, Pawan Suyal 2/76).


In Patna: Arunachal Pradesh 84 and 98/1; 26 overs (Samarth Seth 52 batting). Bihar 536/5 declared; 112 overs (Indrajit Kumar 222, Babul Kumar 98, Utkarsh Bhaskar 57, K Rajnish 45, MD Rahmatullah 42; Myendung Singpho 2/90).


In Wayanad: Puducherry 647/8 declared; 157 overs (Paras Dogra 253, Fabid Ahmed 99, Saju Chothan 81, Vikneshwaran Marimuthu 78, Damodaren Rohit 59; Ishwar Chaudhary 2/118, Bipul Sharma 2/141, Lee Yong Lepcha 2/173).

Source link

Review Overview


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *